History of Astrology – Where Does Your Star Come From?

When the sunset at dawn till it raised art dusk, the people long ago saw heaven hanging up above them. Of course, the innate curiosity of those people wanted to grasp the infinite cosmos in the palm of their hands but to do that they required analysis and method. At first, all the sciences were one. To reach heaven was their philosophy and to interpret the signs it gives was their mission. This is the original origination of astrology. Keep reading to find out more.

The timeline of Astrology:

After surviving eons of destruction, chaos, kingdoms, and natural calamities, mankind has indeed worked its way through life. The biggest reason is certainly astrology because the man used astrology to migrate, predict, plant, and hunt. Astrology gave life to mankind a purpose to search for and a destiny to create. Therefore, we humans tend to have a purpose and why it is necessary to know or strive for our destiny, our future. Astrological science has been evolving from time to time with the contribution of many civilizations. The timeline of the development of astrology is given as follows:

30,000-10,000 B.C.: When Mankind curiosity Took over

This is the earliest time known for an intelligent civilization who could be able to ignite the spark of reaching out to the celestial bodies seemingly wandering in the night sky. It is intriguing for historians to find that the maps of stars were one of the first maps to be built rather than the earth itself. The mapping of stars can be found in early caves where the paintings on the walls, the carvings represent astronomical data to some extent. It is also found on mammoth tusks and bones.

Mankind initially used the stars to move, to reach out and explore what nature was made of. Therefore, the only tracking signs they could choose were a random tree localized in an area as a marker but a star in the sky which would guide them. From here we got our 7 planets which will, later on, be used for our zodiac signs.

6,000 B.C.: Ancient Mesopotamia

Mesopotamia, the people of this ancient civilization, noted and tracked the movements of celestial bodies i.e., planets and stars. This way, the knowledge was preserved and later on used to modify the astronomical chart.

2400-331 B.C.: The Babylonians and Assyrians

Babylonians lived in what we know today as Iraq. They spread out in all of Middle East. The empire of ancient Mesopotamia transferred from one to the other. The Babylonians, however, developed an astrological system, which we call the zodiac wheel. The astronomical chart is one of the most ancient and certainly the first of horoscopes known till date.

331 B.C.-5TH Century A.D: Modifications by the Greek

The Chaldean civilization is conquered by one of the history finest conquerors, Alexander the Great. The Greek was no in possession of the city, the knowledge, and history. Naturally, there was room for improvement, so the Greeks did their part in reviving astrology for good. The implications can be seen from the names of zodiac signs, which were named by the Greeks. Ptolemy who proposed the Geo-centric theory, his book Tetrabiblos was published during this time i.e., 140 A.D. It consisted of the main inspirations and workings of astrology which later on helped the roman in their efforts to remodel astrology.

5th Century A.D.:

The fall of the Roman empire occurred during this time. The destruction that was caused also resulted in the disappearance of the history and workings of western astrology. It was the time when the Arab empire was standing its ground, and they worked in this field. The Arabs had a deep impact in building the modern foundations of astronomy. Many of the names of stars are named in Arabic due to the contribution of Arabs in this field.

Middle Ages:

Astrology once again is blooming. People from all background and belief seek their destiny through this science. It becomes common knowledge, and people become influenced. The kings and elites had an astrological court or council. There was too much effort put into astrology as a science. Then the rise of the church was the decline of Astrology because people believed in astrology more than they did in religion. To eliminate this threat, they had to ban the astrological belief. This even made Galileo renounce his stance and take back his propositions to save his life when he was imprisoned for astrological beliefs.

17th-18th Century: “The Age of reason.”

After the instigation of the protestant movement in the 1500’s astrological science was no longer needed. People were more focused on rationalism, individualism, and in the cafes of Europe, it was these topics that were analyzed and emphasized. Astrology was considered a superstitious belief system. Hence its decline was obvious.

19th Century:

It was until the 19th Century when people become associated with mysticism and spiritualism. This brought people closer to astrological beliefs. Especially when Psychologist Carl Jung used astrological science to demonstrate the use of it in his analysis. Further developments were made in these fields, and it was revived.

20th-21st Century: Modern Astrology

Modern Astrology is the combination of a 4000-year effort that has been materializing to an astronomical table/Chart which is used by modern astrologers to predict future events or guide about personality traits. The 21st Century is a techno-society driven by experimental science. Therefore, astrology was used as some entertainment people used to read in newspapers. Now computers have made it easy to cast charts, which help in readings. The need for astrology is more than ever now; the unpredictable nature of man and its innate curiosity to know the unknown can never be diminished. The 21st Century observes astrology as a methodical science which can positively influence their lives.

Zodiac Signs In Modern Astrology:

Following are the 12 zodiac signs which are used in modern Astrology and have been divided by the Greeks. They are given as follows:

Taurus:          The Bull

Gemini:         The Twins

Cancer:          The Crab

Leo:                The Lion

Virgo:             The Maiden

Libra:             The Scales

Scorpio:         The Scorpion

Sagittarius:   The (Centaur) Archer

Capricorn:     “Goat Mountain” or “Goat-horned” (The Sea-Goat)

Aquarius:      The Water-Bearer

Pisces:            The Fish

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *